All will be well (reflections on MUUSA)

As many of you I’m sure will not know, every summer I go for a week to MUUSA, the Midwest Unitarian Universalist Summer Assembly. This past week was incredibly spiritual, moving, and inspiring. Spiritually recharging, as we like to say, on many levels, and affirming of the faith in the human soul, the spirit of life, that I developed in the Middle East. The week was moving in that I always leave “camp” (as we young folks know it) with a full sense that I can do anything I set my mind to – and the motivation (if not the energy, since we hardly sleep) to actually start walking in that direction. The week was inspiring in that I saw a model, like at Wahat-al Salaam/Nevi Shalom/The Oasis of Peace (In Israel), of coexistence, of people from all over living in a supportive, loving, community. This is what we strive for in the world.

One of the biggest things that I found at Summer Assembly this past week was how much life is a circle. This was the first time in 5 years or so that my parents came back to MUUSA, and it was so refreshing to see them and the Lukows sitting on their porch enjoying an evening, something that sticks out in my childhood memories from camp! I was also a counselor for 5th & 6th graders, which brought up a whole host of memories of what I was like when I was at camp at that age. It’s so incredible to think that one day, inshallah (hopefully), my children will go through these same experiences. This is my spirituality – that we are all connected, and life comes full circle!

In the rest of this summer, after I catch up on sleep (which seems to be impossible, I just can’t get enough!) I hope to act on some of the optimism that I have now, by continuing work on this paper about social media that I am writing with Amal, looking into internship opportunities in Ramallah for next summer, and getting ready for CAB (campus activities board) and Senate stuff at Guilford this coming Fall. I know it sounds boring, and alot of it really is! I keep getting distracted playing music, on Facebook, reading, spending time with friends and family. There’s so much to life! It’s so overwhelming sometimes, trying to balance all the different facets of life that I enjoy. Any advice is of course appreciated 😉

Next post will be more about politics, but for now, enjoy a pretty picture of the sky over Summer Assembly in Potosi, MO!

About thichnhattim

Radically Moderate - neither right nor left brained, I try to use both. Student, activist, UU. Live life by the peaceful teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh. Redesign the flow, redefine the know, we're hanging on the ledge.
This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

